Adventures of Stumblina..

University of Akron, you never cease to amaze me.

So as I’m leaving campus I decided to stop and grab a cup of joe at Bierce Library, little did I know the series of events that were soon to follow. When I say I don’t have it all together, I really mean I don’t have it all together, but after blatantly staring at a middle-aged woman for approximately 4 and half minutes I realized I have it much more together than I thought.

I walk in to the coffee shop at the library psyched that there was no line. After I walked to the coffee pots to see my selections this is what I came across:

I don’t know about you, but this was unsettling in my eyes. First off, Ohio has no surprises, let alone a chocolate one, and secondly, anything containing the words Ohio, Chocolate, and Surprise can be pillaged of anything good, but I took my chances and went with it anyway.

Once I poured my cup of Ohio’s Chocolate Surprise I turned to get in line, apparently the line had formed all the way outside of the shop as I contemplated taking my chances on this flavored coffee. I stumbled through some people trying to make my way to the end, finally paid, and sat down. Here’s where shit gets weird.

I chose a comfortable chair in the corner next to a woman whose exterior looked remotely sane and normal. Man was I wrong! This woman was either severely high on a caffeine/coffee buzz (seeing as how she had an XL coffee cup with 7 packets of empty sugar and 6 empty creamers), was piss drunk and trying to sober up, or was on some serious life altering medications.

I sat down and we instantly had a 5 minute staring contest, I tried not to stare but this was to surreal, her head was bobbling all over the place like Harry Carry’s SNL skit. I was beyond creeped out at this point. Finally I opened my laptop and decided to write this when she got up, gathered her land mine of trash on the table (while spilling the remains of empty creamer containers all over the floor) and stumbled her way to the trashcan. I had started to type my first few sentences of this blog when I looked up to scope out the scene, she was standing right beside me aimlessly gazing into the chair she had just been occupying..shit was SO weird. She literally stood there for about 60 seconds just staring..AT NOTHING, then turned around and faltered out into the library…

But like I posted earlier, be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

